Formula 1 unveils 24-race calendar for 2024

Formula 1 logo during media activities for the Austrian GP, ​​10th round of the Formula 1 World Championship at the Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Osterreich, Austria, 29/06/23 (Photo by Andrea Diodato/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

The 2024 Formula 1 season will consist of 24 races. (Photo by Andrea Diodato/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Formula 1 has revamped its 2024 calendar in a bid to make it easier for teams and crews to travel.

The list of 24 races will start on March 2 in Bahrain for the fourth consecutive season and this race will be followed by the Grand Prix of Saudi Arabia next week. These two races will take place on Saturday instead of Sunday.

The first significant changes to the schedule begin after that. The Australian Grand Prix will be the third race of the season and will be followed by the Japanese Grand Prix and the Chinese Grand Prix. The Suzuka race in Japan moves forward from September while the Chinese Grand Prix is ​​tentatively set to return to the calendar for the first time since 2019.

The 2023 calendar was supposed to be 24 races, but the Chinese Grand Prix was canceled in December 2022 and the Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix at Imola in May was canceled due to flooding in the area.

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix returns in September a week before the night race in Singapore on September 22. The Baku street race usually takes place in the spring and was the week before the Miami Grand Prix this season.

The first race in the United States is again the Miami Grand Prix on May 5. The United States Grand Prix in Austin will take place on October 20 and the Las Vegas Grand Prix will take place again in November. This year’s inaugural Vegas race is scheduled for the weekend after Thanksgiving. The 2024 race will take place on November 23 and the Sunday before the holidays.

The Vegas race is the first race in a series of three races in three weeks to end the season. F1 will follow Las Vegas with races in Qatar on December 1 and the season finale in Abu Dhabi on December 8. This season’s Qatar Grand Prix will take place on October 8 and will be held between races in Japan and Austin.

2024 Formula 1 calendar

  • March 2: Bahrain Grand Prix

  • March 9: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

  • March 24: Australian Grand Prix

  • April 7: Japanese Grand Prix

  • April 21th : Chinese Grand Prix

  • May 5: Miami Grand Prix

  • May 19: Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

  • May 26: Monaco Grand Prix

  • June 9: Canadian Grand Prix

  • June 23: Spanish Grand Prix

  • June 30th : Austrian Grand Prix

  • July 7: British Grand Prix

  • July 21: Hungarian Grand Prix

  • July 28: Belgian Grand Prix

  • August 25: Dutch Grand Prix

  • September 1st : Italian Grand Prix

  • September 15: Azerbaijan Grand Prix

  • September 22: Singapore Grand Prix

  • October 20: United States Grand Prix

  • October 27: Mexican Grand Prix

  • November 3: Brazilian Grand Prix

  • November 23: Las Vegas Grand Prix

  • 1st December: Qatar Grand Prix

  • December 8: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Leave a Comment